snart logo

Annual Meeting  
Join SNART  
Members only  
Related Info  
Real-Time Tools  



SNART Awards

The Bengt Asker Award for The Best Real-Time Master Thesis 2011

Each year, SNART gives the Bengt Asker Award to the best master/final year thesis in the field of real-time and embedded systems. This year's award will be given to a thesis completed in the time interval MAY 1, 2010, to FEBRUARY 28, 2011, at a Swedish university.

The prize money this year is 10,000 SEK, thanks to generous support from Volvo and ABB.

The nomination should be submitted by the supervisor or examiner of the thesis, with prior approval from the candidate. The nomination should include the abstract of the thesis, contact details of the candidate (including current e-mail, telephone number and address), and a PDF file of the thesis.

The DEADLINE for the submission is MARCH 15, 2011. The material should be sent electronically to Anton Cervin (, who coordinates this year's competition. Please use the subject 'Bengt Asker Award 2011' in the e-mail.

The Board of SNART will evaluate the theses and select a winner by the beginning of May. The winner is expected to give a short presentation of the thesis at Real-Time in Sweden 2011 - the 11th Biennial SNART Conference on Real-Time Systems, which will take place at Mälardalen University in Västerås on June 13-14. SNART covers travel expenses (by train) and the registration fee for the conference.

On behalf of the Board of SNART,

Anton Cervin

From 1997 a prize for the Best Master or Final Year Thesis is awarded at the conference/seminar. In 2005 the prize changed name to "The Bengt Asker Award for The Best Real-Time Master Thesis" to honour a pioneer in the computer field and a good friend.

Previous Best Master or Final Year Thesis Awards
2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001, 2000, 1999, 1998, 1997.

Updated Friday, 25-Feb-2011 13:06 by Mats Brorsson